Batman and I

You may not read Mixonian for the movie reviews but I wanted to share with you my impression of the Batman movie, I think it’s called The Dark Knight. It has been a while since I’ve seen a Batman movie; it’s been many many years since my mother pinned dishtowels on my shoulders so I could run around like Batman, Robin, and of course the glamorous Cat Woman. My brother, John Del, played the role of Robin, but now I wonder if he harbored a desire to topple his big sister and be Batman himself!

The scoop is….I didn’t like the movie last night. At all. It was too dark, too creepy, and too violent. It put a (temporary) damper on my sunny disposition and I am so grateful to have only paid the matinee price!

My reaction to this movie reminds me of how much our surroundings influence us: the media products we see, the books we read, the music we listen to, the kind of people we hang around with. Studies show that optimistic people are happier and more successful; don’t let Batman or the evening news put you in a dark frame of mind.

2 responses to “Batman and I

  1. I have heard tons of people love this movie. I have not seen it and probably will not. I tend to steer away from “darker” subjects. It just looks creepy.

  2. Hi, Connie! It’s good to hear from you! I didn’t think this movie would affect me so negatively; I had not seen any of the trailers for it. It really is creepy. I saw Penelope on DVD last night and loved it. Very positive, self-empowering message. Take care, Laura

Leave a Reply

