Setting Delight-O-Meter Goals

sandytoes

If the idea of setting delight-o-meter goals sounds like an oxymoron, set aside your doubt and see what I mean.

In preparing for my Choose Clarity and Confidence for 2010 e-seminar, I have been following my own advice. Which I mostly do.

The first thing I did was my business plan. That was easier than you might think. I have a pretty solid business/marketing plan for next year. I really enjoy the process of developing a marketing plan because that’s where communication know-how works, or doesn’t work.

Then I remembered the rest of me.

I am not ALL business, and neither are you, even if you love what you do.

To keep on encouraging, you have to encourage yourself. To inspire others, you start by inspiring yourself. To really serve your clients, you start by taking extremely good care of yourself: mind and body and spirit.

Not taking care of yourself is what causes burnout, disenchantment and depression. But there’s more to taking care of yourself than simply eating properly and getting enough rest. Getting the bare minimum R and R keeps you running, but not flourishing. Keeping track of your own delight-o-meter maintains your personal source of creativity, inspiration and even healing.

So what kinds of things fill up your delight-o-meter? It’s good to know and to include those activities in your annual plan. Remember the saying, failure to plan means planning to fail. The point is not that your plan will unfold like a Swiss watch, but that it gives your guidance for making good decisions quickly.

So what is fun for you? Could be going to a museum, trying a new restaurant, visiting a fun store (even if  you don’t buy anything.) Or maybe it’s riding a fast boat, watching a NASCAR race, or eating at Sonic. Could also be playing hooky. Or doing something really out of character.

Spontaneity is great. But my experience is that planning for delight in my life is essential. Working comes naturally, having fun is something I have to be intentional about, or I put it off.

Try including delight-o-meter activities into your plan for 2010. I put those together with my plan for health and fitness.

Leave a Reply

