9 Book Recommendations from 2009

If you’re like me, you love to read but you’re so busy you don’t want to waste time and money with books that simply aren’t worth it. One of the things I love about my mastermind coaching group is that we share book recommendations.

I’m passing along 9 recommendations from this year’s reading. I read a lot more than 9, and I’m not putting out any academic reading suggestions. (You’re welcome.) 😉

Note, few, if any of these were actually published during this year. But they are all books that I read and was able to leverage. I’m ordering some books today to read after Christmas, you might want to do the same. These are listed in no particular order

1. Rich Dad’s Conspiracy of the Rich by Robert J. Kiyosaki. If you were caught off guard when Wachovia Bank collapsed, this will help you get what kind of financial shenanigans were going on at the time (and still going on.) Kiyosaki gives a great perspective on personal finances that can help you create total financial success, if that’s something that interests you.

2. The Success Principles: How to Get From Where You Are to Where You Want to Be by Jack Canfield. This is a wonderful resource when you’re feeling a bit stuck, not sure what the next step is. It has a TON of information, but it’s organized so you can read just a little bit at a time. My favorite section is about the use of impeccable language.

3. Pop! Create the Perfect Pitch, Title and Tagline for Anything by Sam Horn. If you’re in business, especially marketing, you’ll want to read Horn’s tips for playing with words to create meaningful and catchy phrases.

4. The Blue Sweater by Jackqueline Novogratz. Wow. This one I got from Seth Godin and it really opened my eyes to what goes on with charitable giving in developing countries, specifically those in Africa. The best thing is that Novogratz proposes practical solutions to corruption, graft and waste involved in so much of what passes for “helping” people in need.

5. The Architecture of All Abundance by Lenedra Carroll. This author is known to many for being the mother of a singer named Jewel. I am totally ignorant of Jewel and her music, but what I really got from Carroll was the idea of structuring your life to reflect your own closely held values. She introduces the concept of “personal economy” which, in my own life, means placing a premium value on time with kids and alone, rather than only focusing on your bank balance.

6. Style by Kate Spade. This was a Mother’s Day gift and while it came out a few years ago, I really enjoy seeing Spade’s illustrations and reading her style tips. Her use of color is excellent.

7. Vein of Gold by Julia Cameron. This is Cameron’s sequel to The Artist’s Way. I have reread both books numerous times and get something new each and every time. Her mission is showing people how to live with more creativity and intention. Cameron is one of my all-time favorite authors.

8. The 4-Hour Work Week by Timothy Ferriss. This is one I would have definitely not read had Christine Kane not recommended it so strongly. However, he really gets the reader to shift her paradigm about exchanging time and effort for money. Don’t let your boss know you’re reading this!

9. Make it Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die by Chip Heath and Dan Heath. In essence, a great guide for communication. These brothers share great tips for making your message memorable, especially in today’s ueber-cluttered and chaotic environment.

3 responses to “9 Book Recommendations from 2009

  1. Thanks for the recommendations – some I’ve read, most not! But I’m definitely intrigued by some of them.

    • These books are intriguing. Remember you can buy used books at amazon for like $2.00 plus maybe $4 for shipping. That’s a good deal for us book junkies! Of course when I write MY book, I want you to buy a new copy! 😉

  2. Thanks, Laura. I’m especially intrigued with the books by Canfield and Novogratz. Thanks, too, about the Amazon tip. I didn’t know that. You’ve got a book in the works — great! Pati

Leave a Reply

