What You Want to Know About the Weather, Especially if You’re an Introvert

My friend, Sally, made this winter scene quilt and it’s one of my favorites. You can see it won a blue ribbon at a local quilt show. She has boat loads of ribbons for her quilts.

The weather, well, it’s raining right now in Charleston, kind of cool, not too bad. 😉

Actually, you may be interested in knowing that there’s something about the weather that can help you in a strange and powerful way. What you’re about to read can actually change your life, if you’re the kind of person who ever struggles with small talk.

I used to think that discussing the weather was not very intellectual. I mean, you can’t change it and it’s always changing.

Keith Ferrazzi, author of Never Eat Alone, helped me to look at the weather from a totally different perspective. One that has improved my life significantly.

Here’s the thing about the weather:

It’s something that affects EVERYONE: all races, ethnicities, nationalities, sexes, genders, age groups, income and education levels. It’s an equalizer. That makes it a phenomenal way to connect to people.

I’ve been truly astounded at how easy it is to strike up a conversation about the weather with a perfect stranger. All you have to do is say something, anything, about the weather. And then magically you now have someone to talk to!

Since I never watch television, I sometimes ask people what the weather report is. They usually know. Isn’t that cute?

And even better, people seem to be glad I’m asking them.

Like a lot of teachers and academics, I love teaching but I used to be really uncomfortable with small talk. I would rack my brain trying to think of something intelligent to say, and of course experience brain freeze every time.

I was asking myself the wrong question all the time. Most people don’t want intelligent conversation, whatever that is, they just want to connect to people. That’s a heck of a lot more fun every time.

So, how’s the weather where you are? Wet enough for you?

2 responses to “What You Want to Know About the Weather, Especially if You’re an Introvert

  1. Dogs and cats are another great topic for starting conversations. Although they don’t affect everyone quite the way the weather does, most folks seem willing to say a few words about critters.

    • Thanks, Sally! Great point about pets — also a good conversation topic. I guess the big thing I learned is that to make conversation you don’t need to come up with some breakthrough insight in order to connect to people. Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

