Passion Fruit Writing, Exercise 3, Day 3

Welcome back.

You may be wondering if the exercises in Passion Fruit Writing are a randomly selected hodge podge of writing cues. Well, in a way, yes, and in a way, no. I picked out from my tool box of dozens of writing exercises a few for you to play with. But there is a bit of meaning in the madness.

Week 1 was about reconnecting with your past. There is a part of you that never changes, regardless of your age, health, or any other physical condition. It’s easy to forget that.

When I was young, I used to form these little clubs for me and my buddies. We would meet, share our stories, make plans, eat cookies, and feel special. Of course, no boys were allowed.

Somehow Mixonian is a big-girl version of a little girl’s past time. Even my dad has commented to me that my “work” activities remind him of my past “play” activities.

I like that.

So, back to Passion Fruit Writing. Week 2 was about noticing your present life. Closely observing, and making Tiny Changes. Even the exercise from Tuesday related to focusing on your life as it is presently constituted.

Today we’re going to use our imaginations to design a fun and meaningful future.

If you have a clear idea of where you want to go in life,  you have a much better chance of getting there than if you live reactively, waiting for life to show up for you. The thing is, so many people, especially women, live in such a perpetual state of overwhelm. Permanently rushed, that they cannot imagine being creative because they’re focused on just getting through the day, or maybe the week.

For many years I lived like that. There’s certain comfort in living in crisis mode, you always know what to do. But the suspicion that all is not right with you cannot be permanently repressed.

These writing exercises give you the means to be creative about designing the life you long for, rather than just getting by.

To take a baby step in gettting more of you into your life, write about this question.

What do I want less of in my life? Think of at least 2 things.

Here are some things that may apply to you; be as specific as possible.

* I want less weight to carry around.

* I want less financial stress.

* I want less rush.

* I want to get out of overwhelm.

* I don’t want to keep having to s-t-r-e-t-c-h every dollar just to make ends meet.

* I want to spend less time at my job.

* I want to feel less sadness.

What applies to you? Writing down what you want less of prepares you to restructure a life that better suits you. Please share your thoughts by writing in the comment box below.

Leave a Reply

