Passion Fruit Writing, Exercise 3, Day 4

Today’s Passion Fruit Writing assignment is short, but powerful. Actually all of these exercises have deep potential to offer you great value. The leverage really comes from your intention, when you’re clear about what it is that you want to work on in your life.

Yesterday you wrote something to answer this question.

What do I want less of in my life? Think of at least 2 things.

Your answer to this question gives you information relevant to areas in which you’re losing energy. Your answers may be telling you to clean up some clutter, to let go of some commitments, or maybe change  your relationship with money. That’s where you do work at interpreting, or connecting the dots in your life. You’ll probably have an easier time if you talk about this with someone else who’s doing the exercises, or another trusted confidante.

In my own work with energy drains, I found a common element among many of them: my relationship to money. To be able even to recognize this limiting perspective, I had to shift from blaming other people for my circumstances to accepting responsibility (not blame) for what was going on in my life.

Frankly, I’m quite stubborn and it was not until my life fell apart 2004-2005 that I became sufficiently open-minded so that i could question some of my assumptions. I became willing to get help and eventually worked intensively with my awesome coach, Christine. Once I (finally) recognized the roots that were causing the consequences I didn’t care for, then I was able to take action to be a more active and pro-active player in my own life.

As long as your focus is on consequences and not root causes, you’re not moving forward in your life. If you don’t like the movie that’s being shown on the screen – hitting the screen, or arguing with it, is not going to change it. I guess you realize that, but so many times I hear people ranting against the consequences of something, without seeming to be aware that there are deep causes for the thing that bothers them so much

Once you know what you want less of, now you can write the converse.

What are 2 things you’d like to experience more of in your life?

* Free time

* Toys

* Children

* Meaning

* Social life

* Vacation

* Eating out

* Coaching

* Travel

* Stillness or silence

Remember not to overthink these exercises. Write the first thing that comes to your mind. It’s great when you share thoughts by commenting below.

Leave a Reply

