Are You the Creative + Effective Leader of Your Own Life? 28 Ways to Know

In a recent conversation with a client, she was sharing her frustration with what she called, “a series of unfortunate events.” It was the sort of thing that happens in life — and this client, we’ll call her Michelle, wasn’t really down on herself. However, these events had shaken her confidence in the way she was redesigning her life.

That is often the way life unfolds. That’s part of what makes it so interesting.

So, you may want to be a part of our discussion of what is means to really be the creative and effective leader in your own life. The word “creative” relates to the ability to respond, rather than simply reacting to unfortunate events.

Here are 23 ways you can know if you’re the authentic leader of your own life, rather than simply a participant in it.

1. You love your life, even when the dirt comes up in response to the seeds you’ve planted.

2. You don’t cancel your hair appointment when you get hit with an unexpected expense.

3. You’ve taught everyone in your circle of influence how they may speak to you.

4. You have plenty of time and space for yourself.

5. You know that inside every personal weakness, there lies the potential for your greatest contribution.

6. You make requests, rather than complaints.

7. You take extremely good care of your body. Some say you’re obsessive about it but you know it’s vital for your well being.

8. You listen to your heart’s desires.

9. You know what makes you happy.

10. You take vacations, the kind where it’s not about visiting family.

11. You delegate a lot because you’re not trying to prove that you’re indispensable.

12. You contribute generously for the joy of it.

13. You invest in yourself consistently.

14. You don’t clip coupons because it takes too much time.

15. Your home is clutter free.

16. Your normal state of being is quietly cheerful.

17. You practice observing people and situations without rushing to judge them. (I love Mother Teresa’s saying, If you judge people, you have no time to love them.)

18. You’re confident that things work out for the best.

19. You create wealth, you don’t try to “get” from other people.

20. You forgive everyone, including yourself. That also means you don’t tolerate disrespect.

21. Your relationships don’t drain you.

22. You love to laugh and sometimes remind yourself to lighten up.

23. You don’t normally buy the cheapest of everything.

24. You ground yourself by noticing all the little blessings in your life.

25. You remind yourself of who you are, and who you’re not.

26. You never berate yourself for not having all the answers.

27. You are more likely to say “no” than to say “yes” to things. (In other words, if it’s not something you KNOW you want to be,do or have, you simply say “no.”)

28. You LOVE being decisive!

Which ones of these speaks to you? Where have you seen the best results in your own life?

8 responses to “Are You the Creative + Effective Leader of Your Own Life? 28 Ways to Know

  1. Laura, I really like this list! You’ve got some really do-able things on here. And they are concrete things too! There are so many that really resonate with me, but these 4 stick out the most.
    #4- Making and Time and Space for me
    #5- Personal weakness has potential for contribution
    #7- Take care of my body! I feel like I’m the only one of my friends that works out 4-5 days a week. Geez, I’m only there for 45-60 minutes a day and the benefits are awesome!

    #14- about clipping coupons just CRACKS ME UP!! Been there done that!

    Have a good day 😀

    • Hi, Eden! Thanks for stopping by. I am pleased with this list,too! 😉 It brings together a lot of things I’ve learned that really work. Your workouts do you so much good! Keep it up!

  2. Adore this list!! Publish it in your next book! I may come up with my own list. Had a few/many difficult years myself between 29-32 between dating and being single, work (enjoyed Lillian Vernon very much but Management is always demanding and I was also supervising build-outs of 3-4 other seasonal stores AND hiring their Managers and staff…and chaufering around Mrs. Vernon and her son to Va political things…82 hours a week was common…), my step-mother (although she never knew I did not care for her at all), and my Father slowly dying from COPD and being bed-ridden for 2 years. Then, the setteling of the bankrupt estate after my step-mother spent all the money and ran up all his credit cards… it was exhausting. 9 months later, after I finally settled Dad’s estate, I quit my job and slept for 3 weeks. Thank you for the good, true tips!!

  3. Also, I tell my “etiquette kids” all the time, Eleanor Roosevelt said: “You teach other people how to treat you.” It is true!
    There is a long quote from Mother Theresa I posted on one of my first blog posts. I’ll search and send to you, cherie!! Au Revoir!

    • Merci, mon amie! For me, teaching people how to treat me is the lesson of a lifetime. I think it’s harder for women because we’re so relationship-oriented and we love it when everybody gets along. Thanks for sharing your experience in these 2 responses! I know dealing with losing your dad must have been challenging. I have fond memories of him from WAY back! Hugs.

  4. I think this is an outline for a great book. You could expand on each of these concepts and have a sizable piece of work. Maybe it’s not groundbreaking for everyone but there are a lot of people that don’t “get” this. Food for thought…

  5. Great minds! As I posted it yesterday that same thought crossed my mind….thanks for the feedback!

  6. Hey, Laura, tried to post this a few days ago but put a tiny URL in the website slot and it disappeared. Finally figured it out…so here’s take two! Loved this post, really wish I could do/be all of them. Baby steps!
    +++++++++++++++++
    Another Charlestonian comes to mind: Stephen Colbert (my boyfriend BTW) who would say: Be creative. Be effective.

    The word “creative” relates to the ability to respond, rather than simply reacting to unfortunate events.

    I like this A LOT. I’ve been trying to reframe the word “responsibility” to become response-ability. The ones that resonated for me are the ones I am working on or would like to incorporate more of:

    13. You invest in yourself consistently.
    23. You don’t normally buy the cheapest of everything.

    These two go together for me and I am trying to do this more often with pretty good results.

    15. Your home is clutter free.

    Finally in a position to work on this!

    16. Your normal state of being is quietly cheerful.

    THIS IS HOW I WANT TO BE.

    17. You practice observing people and situations without rushing to judge them.

    Working on this one all the time. God, I hope I get it soon!

    18. You’re confident that things work out for the best.

    This is only a recent realization for me but it seems to become truer the more I focus on it. It helps me not judge those pesky situations to be bad!

Leave a Reply

